Ask

In the morning my 3-year-old comes to my bedside and whispers (and sometimes yells 😊), “Daddy get up, can I have a French toast?” 

Every morning she never fails to come to my bedside and say my name.  She knows I’ll hear her voice. She knows she can make her request for French toast, her favorite, even though we might not always have it each morning for breakfast. 

And as I struggle sometimes to get out of bed earlier than I want, she waits and repeats my name and her request, expecting me to respond. I don’t always love waking up that early, but I do love that my girl knows she can come to me for help. 

In our prayers we are invited to come and ask for help each morning. We see this in Psalm 5:3, which says,

“In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.” 

May you this morning truly find grace for whatever you need as you voice it in prayer to the One who always hears your voice. 

Chaplain Josh

Leave a comment