Quiet Beauty

Chances are that you’ve noticed this about life, as I have: Things are often loud and fast and we can easily get swept up in the drama and excitement if we don’t make a purposeful effort to stay aware of the choices we make.

When I let myself get swept along, it might be fun for a time, defending and arguing and wringing my hands over some new plight. But that heightened energy and interest soon becomes a feeling of pressure and stress, which isn’t so enjoyable.

And while I’m caught up in the passion of the day, I so easily miss the quiet beauty God places everywhere on my path. The new beautiful lily along the walk might go unseen, unappreciated, uncelebrated, if my mind is caught in other non-present ideas and enthusiasms.

Today may we practice peace with open eyes and hearts. As Thomas a Kempis wrote,

“If thou attend to thyself and to God, thou wilt be little moved by what thou perceivest outside thee.”

God we pray for the discernment of all we encounter today. May we care about and engage in your course for love, choosing to be still an instant and remember you, grateful for your constant presence and tender care. Amen.

Chaplain Katherine

Leave a comment